The Australian Government coat of Arms

Communities of practice

Rapdid eleanring tools: Storyline, Captivate, Lectora

Hi, I’ve posted this under the general Design System forum however it could fit here. Apologies to the Admins about this redundancy.

Hi all, my name’s Alex and I am a PD consultant with APRA. I am involved in overhauling existing eLearning modules in our Learning Centre. Our chief requirement is for content to be republished as HTML5 as Flash will no longer be supported after 2020.

I’ve been informed that any mandatory or Whole-Of-Government (WOG) content should meet WCAG 2.0 standards. This applies to Fraud Awareness which is being redeveloped through Dept. of Jobs.

Modules have been developed in-house or licensed using a number of rapid eLearning tools - Articulate Storyline, Captivate, and Lectora.

Storyline supports WCAG 2.0 to A and AA standards.

I would like to enquire if there are any guidelines developed for use with rapid eLearning development?.

Hi @alexarathoon it’s quite a unique problem you have. We can’t recommend or endorse products with associated costs however I would recommend experimenting and following the Digital Service Standard as closely as possible.

In terms of guidelines there is nothing I am aware of at this current time.

Thanks Alex Page, unfortunately rapid tools don’t use HTML/CSS etc. so the code snippets are of little value. They are rapid tools which uses a visual WYSIWYG engine. We can set colours, fonts, interactions.

I’ve recently heard that WCAG applies mostly to inter/intra net pages and our eLearning modules are exempt.
I’ve also found out that Articulate Story does meet some WCAG 2.0 standards A and AA.

…guidelines developed for use with rapid eLearning development?.

Are you looking for how to write accessible content for digital, or how to build an eLearning platform’s web architecture? (Or both?)