The Australian Government coat of Arms

Communities of practice

Communities of practice

CSS conflicts between in-page components

Hi all,

(Not sure the best location for this post - please move as needed. Should it be under “Support” or “Design” …?)

I am new to using the DTA designs, and am setting up a site with all the variable options that can be used into the CMS. I don’t use SCSS (although I plan to look into it more) or React, but rather the standard CSS with variables from the CMS to input classes.

I have put all the CSS for different components into a minimised file - so that editors can put any element on any page as needed. However, this is causing problems with conflicting CSS from them ‘resetting’ the defaults (rather than just the ones with the appropriate classes).

An example is the Page Alerts and Tags CSS.
The Page Alerts set padding to 16px on the left/right. But then the Tags CSS comes along and changes it by resetting the left/right padding to 0 with:
main .au-body {
padding:64px 0;
padding: 4rem 0
}

I can change the order of my CSS compilation, to put the Page Alerts after the Tags, but I expect I will still have conflict problems because of this type of thing in other parts too.

From my experience, usually the CSS would be more specific, so that the Tags’ CSS would be specific to the content within the Tags’ classes.
e.g.
main .au-body .au-tags {…}

Is there a reason it has not been coded more specifically in the CSS files?
Or is it just a mistake that needs fixing when spotted?

Thanks! :slight_smile:
Emily

Hey Emily,

Thanks for noticing this issue. I will investigate it over the next day and get back to you!

@emily thanks for sharing the issues you are experiencing. Welcome to the Design Systems community.

I recommend using sass as it will allow you to customise the components in greater fidelity. However it is not essential or causing the issue you are talking about above.