The Australian Government coat of Arms

Communities of practice

Communities of practice

Acknowledging contributors

Hello, My name is Misaki and I work as a designer for the service manual team at NHS Digital.
We’re looking to incorporating a component that shows the faces of our contributors like you have on your website and was hoping to learn from the community. I have a few questions that I haven’t managed to find answers for after rooting around the contributing guidelines, and was wondering whether you could help me.

Q.1 Would a comment class as a large enough contribution to have your face shown as a contributor?
Q.2 Are there any instances of a team photo being pulled instead of a photo of someone who did a lot of the initial work?
Q.3 Has there been any feedback about how designers/developers feel about this component?

Would really appreciate any input from the community!
Looking forward to hearing from you.

Hi @misakihata - welcome to the community, and thanks for your questions!

There’s some background on why this element came about on the DTA blog:

Also from the blog post:

Because our contributions can take many forms, we needed a different way to recognise the hard work that goes into maintaining and growing our design system. After some experimentation, we decided to use contributor badges on each component. The core design system team curates the contributor badges and to avoid the appearance of hierarchy we randomise the order in which they appear. We also seek approval from each individual or team of contributors so we can link to an appropriate profile or government site.